Opinion

The one ad you HAVE to watch today – Marie Curie, ‘Symmetry’


It’s not often I tell you that you HAVE to watch an ad.

But you HAVE to watch this one.  I will hear of no dissent.

What Marie Curie have achieved with this work is nothing short of remarkable.

I hope this goes viral.

It HAS to go viral.

Watch it.  Then I’ll tell you why.

I’ll be brief.

Rarely have I seen a ad that packs such an emotional punch.

As someone who has witnessed end of life care, and been there at the final moments, I understand this ad.  Deeply.

The creative concept of Symmetry, of linking start of life care to end of life care, is incredible.

The ad takes us through the important stages in life. 

The first kiss.

The first shave.

It uses devices that we can all relate to.

It reminds us that life is important.

And that death is a part of life.

An important part.

The only certain part.

And it makes us reflect on how we would like to be treated in those final moments.

Calmly, carefully, considerately.  With love.

And it’s not morbid.

It’s a celebration of those important moments.

It’s not about death, or dying.

It’s about life, and living.

Some media outlets have described it as ‘heart-breaking’. I call it life-affirming.

Holy shit – this ad is brilliant.

I’ve watched it three times in succession.

It’s brought a tear to my eye.

It makes me want to wear a daffodil pin.

No ad has EVER achieved this, for me.

So watch it, share it, contribute to the Marie Curie Daffodil appeal.

I know I’m going to.

Neil Hopkins is a Marketing and Branding Theorist at heart, and a Marketing Communications Manager by day. His blog – interacter – is the primary location he shares insight and information relating to marketing, branding and advertising strategy.
You can follow Neil on Twitter, circle him (like an escaped bull) on Google+ or track him down in any number of other ways.

8 thoughts on “The one ad you HAVE to watch today – Marie Curie, ‘Symmetry’

  1. Pingback: Emotional advertising done right: “Symmetry” for the Great Daffodil Appeal | Incredibilii

  2. Pingback: Aggressive angle to beat Cancer – another charity winner? | interacter

  3. I agree with everything that you have said Neil.
    Simple concept; brilliantly executed; incredibly effective.

    Afterwards though, one thing left me thinking …

    In recent months we have seen story after story condemning the standard of care in care homes and hospitals for the elderly and others who need our help the most.

    What this advert offers is a gold standard for all organisations who care for others to aspire to. How different would our NHS be if instead of targets, performance measures and complex metrics, we showed this and said “this is your goal”. After all this is what matters.

    Marie Curie have not just produced a great video, but given many other care organisations a basic lesson in defining corporate values that actually matter. One that is too often forgotten. Well done Marie Curie. You get my money too.

  4. I was almost crying when i saw this for the first time. It makes me feel that every moment is special. It is heartwarming and it has a very good way of making its way clear. I’ve realised that my last moments are as important as my first. I had my first kiss last year and this advert reminds me of how special these moments are :,) ❤

  5. It is very very rare for me to say this bit that advert was the most meaningful advert ever.
    The prospect of ‘symmetry’ really made me want to cry. There us always a first and last and this had shown everything.
    First Steps Last Steps
    First Birthday Last Birthday
    First Blink Last Blink
    First Shave Last Shave
    First Kiss Last Kiss
    The Marie curie nurses do so much to help these people so please whatever the reason wear a daffidil

  6. i admire the help given by the Marie Curie Nurses but for people who are terminally ill and their nearest and dearest that advert painfully and depressing

So - what did you think? Love it? Loathe it? Have something to add? Well, what are you waiting for?

