Opinion

You say ‘Like’. I say ‘Meh’


Burn me at the stake if you will (I’ll bring the marshmallows).

But for god’s sake, don’t ‘Like’ me.

If you ‘Like’ me, it means that I’ve failed.

I’ve failed to get you to Love me.

I’ve failed to inspire you to the point where you want to make a comment.

I’ve failed to turn you from a passive observer into an active do-er.

And no, clicking ‘Like’ doesn’t count as doing.

People ‘Like’ sleep.

People ‘Like’ the word Moist.

People ‘Like’ stuff that’s OK. That’s average.

People like clicking a ‘Like’ button then never having to think of it again.

It’s permission marketing of the laziest kind.

Is that what you want for your brand? Is it really?

Because if it is, you could get 700 million people to ‘Like’ you.

But if you stop there, you’ll be out of business by the end of the month (and February’s a short month).

What you need is interaction. Is action. Is the community to get behind you and do.

Comment.

Share.

Put their hands in their pockets and buy something.

Not click a ‘Like’ button which might as well say ‘Meh’.

A button which says “I like you enough to click this, but not enough to actually spend some time commenting, sharing or doing.”

“I’ll nod at you in the street, but I won’t cross the road to say hello.”

You get the idea.

And you know what you need to do.

You need to turn ‘Meh’ into ‘Yeah!’.

How? That’s up to you. There are about 1.19million webpages which will tell you how to make the most from your Facebook marketing efforts.

I’m not going to reinvent the wheel.

But I will say this.

Stop chasing ‘Like’.

Try making a little Love.

It’ll take you further, I promise.

So - what did you think? Love it? Loathe it? Have something to add? Well, what are you waiting for?

