Opinion

Social Media burnout – an opportunity in disguise


Are you feeling the strain of social media fatigue and burnout? If so, you’re not alone. Discussions about this are currently rife across all of the social networks that I’m involved in, with individuals often intimating that it was the arrival of Google+ which proved to be the final straw.

However, I think that this is an opportunity in disguise…

Being honest, I’m almost at the burnout stage myself. I’m certainly fatigued. This is the list of networks I’m on:

Twitter (including curating five lists and following another five)
Google+
Facebook
LinkedIn
Quora
UK Marketing Network (although I’ve not logged in for about 6 weeks – my bad)
Sparked (again, haven’t had time to play too much)
Foursquare
Waze (sometimes, when I can get GPS signal)
LastFM (passive involvement)
Flickr

Not as as many as some I’ll freely admit, but still enough when you consider the various groups, followings, connections and so forth that come with each network.

And of course there’s this blog which needs TLC, spam checking, promotion and so on.

Being part of the networks isn’t a problem. Creating content – goood content – for each network is what’s proving the challenge.

Even curating and distributing content across the different platforms can be a hectic task when you consider the thousands of potential sources out there to scan, understand and share. The size of the potential task actually makes my head spin.

Giving up isn’t an option.

Aside from the fact that social media is fun (and if it isn’t, you need to reassess your platform use), it’s important. It’s an important way to share experiences and help others out; it’s an important way to grow business; and it’s an important way to increase knowledge, learning and skills.

So what to do?

For me, the answer is to restrategise, to relook at the way I use each network (and how I link them together) and to redefine this element of my brand.

I’ve already got some ideas about how I can start using the networks differently to add greater value (I hope) to the communities that I’m part of – and I’ll be feeding these into a brand session that I’m planning for myself in the near future.

I’m hoping that once this work is complete that I’ll be more useful, more present, within the communities while simultaneously removing the elements that create fatigue and burnout.

Sometimes, it takes a burnout to drive real change. To raze to the ground and rebuild, if you will.

That’s exciting. That’s energising. And that’s positive…

Are you feeling the pressure? How are you coping with social media fatigue? Share your thoughts below, please – I would love to learn from your experience.

One thought on “Social Media burnout – an opportunity in disguise

  1. Pingback: Firestarting marketing. Are you ready to create the future? «

So - what did you think? Love it? Loathe it? Have something to add? Well, what are you waiting for?

