Inspiration / Opinion

Creating freedom


Free people achieve more than they think that they can.

Take me, for example. I can’t draw. Well, I think that I can’t.

But I managed this at TedxBrighton earlier in the year:

Yes, I astounded myself. In fact, I was quite shocked. It looks like a person. That’s the best I’ve ever done.

And there were two keys to this achievement:

1) Self permission.
We were set a task of drawing the life model in front of us. I allowed myself to do it with no preconceptions about the result. I knew that there was no-one looking over my shoulder. And it seemed that the exercise was a bit of fun.
(I had no idea that it would turn out to be so profound)

2) The right atmosphere.
TedxBrighton was a laid back, creative space where ideas were encouraged and no criticism was levelled. Everyone was in the same boat in a shared experience. There was no need to be competitive. Because we weren’t required to show our work, there was no chance of judgement, no opportunity to fail.

Only an opportunity to participate and experience.

Just look at the result. I’m still astounded.

I did that. And I’m proud of it.

Putting the two key factors together reveals one fundamental truth.

I was free.

And because I was free, I achieved more than I thought I could.

Just think what you and your team could do, presented with the same freedom.

What you need to do is create the conditions, and some astounding work will follow.

Dare to be free. You’ll thank yourself for it.

So - what did you think? Love it? Loathe it? Have something to add? Well, what are you waiting for?

