Opinion

The missing post – an explanation.


If you’re a regular visitor to this blog, you may realise that a post released in the last 24 hours has been removed.

This is very out of character for me, and for the blog.  Therefore, I wish to be as open and transparent as I can at this moment about the reasons behind the removal.

Unfortunately, I can not explain exactly why this post was removed.  And if you didn’t read the post in the first place, then this will make no sense.

However, I have been contacted by a member of the legal profession concerning the post.

That person was clear in that there was no action or claim being considered against me, and that the contents of the post were in line with their position on the matter.

But I was asked if I would consider removing the post.

This is a serious consideration.

As an independent blogger who has a firm belief in the sanctity of an open internet, within which free speech and freedom of expression should reign above all else, I’m not used to being asked to remove content and, normally, I would resist all such attempts to censure my work.

However, in this instance, I felt that removing the post was the correct thing to do because of the context to which that post referred.

Maybe one day I will be able to republish it.  Perhaps not.

But I felt the need to explain what’s gone on as I take any issues over my integrity very seriously.

For now, that’s it.  On with the show, as they say…

2 thoughts on “The missing post – an explanation.

  1. I had such a great witty comment about this, but I guess you’ll never be able to read it now :)

    Don’t worry Mr Interacter … actions like these are a fact of life for anyone posting anything remotely topical on the t’internet. You and I may disagree, but I have neither the inclination or income to challenge it … life is too short. Move on.

    Hey, the sun is coming out. Oh look, a funny cat video on YouTube …

So - what did you think? Love it? Loathe it? Have something to add? Well, what are you waiting for?

